Dansk.Ru - История и культура Дании - Helle Helle Wins Golden Laurel


Our Partners


Караван Дружбы Россия - Дания

Our poll

What do you like most of all in Denmark?

The Main Page arrow Culture arrow Helle Helle Wins Golden Laurel

Helle Helle Wins Golden Laurel

Print E-mail
Friday, 10 February 2012
Хелле ХеллеHelle Olsen, she is more popular as Helle Helle. On 24 January 2012 the 46-year-old writer won the Golden Laurel literary prize for her novel This should be written in the present, published in 2011. The prize is awarded annually by the Booksellers’ Club. The author received the award at a surprise reception organized for her at the Rosinante publishing house.
The prize is awarded to the living Danish author who gains the most votes from all Danish booksellers who receive voting ballot at the beginning of each year. The author who during the latest year published a “fiction book worth to be a literary work” wins the prize.

Berlingske Tiderne literary editor Jens Andersen is glad that the prize went to the author who once used a famous elegant writing style. He believes the fact that Helle Helle is the winner marks return to the old times’ traditions.

“Last years have seen a tendency to award debutants who attract readers’ attention with only one book. Helle Helles’ awarding is more of the 50s and 60s’ tradition when such artists as Karen Blixen, Tom Kristensen and later Klaus Rifbjerg were awarded for their contribution to literature which they had been making for many years. I am very happy about it,” Andersen said.

Helle Olsen was born in Nakskov. Her first novel printed was “Et blommetræ” (A Plum Tree), published under the name of Helle Krogh Hansen in Dagbladet Information. Later she decided to take her great-grandmother’s last name, Helle, as a pseudonym. Her first novel published under this name was “Eksemplel på liv”(Examples of Life), published in 1993.

Helle passed an extra PhD qualifying literature exam at the University of Copenhagen and graduated from the School of Creative Writing (Forfatterskolen). She is known for her measured tone and realistic themes. On top of everything else, Helle won the State Cultural Fund’s grant for three years. Her books are translated into Swedish, Norwegian, Estonian, Dutch, German, and Czech.

The Golden Laurel award has been awarded since 1949. Over the last five years the following people have won the prize: Adler-Olsen (2010), Ida Jessen (2009), Hanne-Vibeke Holst (2008), Jens Smærup Sørensen (2007), and Knud Romer (2006).
Translated by Elena Kandaurova
Original text: Berlingske Tidende

Photo: Politiken.dk 




Book Hotel in Denmark

Airtickets to Denmark


Denmark Today

Magazine about Denmark

Denmark: history and modern time